If you no longer use a customer or supplier record, you can delete it. If the record still has a balance or activity, you can hide it.
Cause
Resolution
Delete a customer or supplier record
Open the relevant module.
Select the records you want to delete.
Press Delete then Yes.
CAUTION:
After deleting records, back up your data and compress the relevant module.
The reasons why you can't delete a record are in the section below, and how to resolve them. Alternatively, hide records that you can't delete.
Reasons you can't delete a record
Reason
What to check
Solution
There's a balance
In Customers, check the Balance column.
In Suppliers, check the Balance column.
Clear the balance either by allocating transactions together in the bank, or by posting a payment, receipt, or credit. Once there’s no outstanding balance, to remove the transactions you need to run Clear Audit Trail.
There's transaction history
In Customers, open the required record and press Activity.
In Suppliers, open the required record and press Activity.
Clear associated transactions by running the Clear Audit Trail. This permanently removes all fully paid, allocated, and reconciled transactions up to a specific date.
NOTE:
Deleted transactions will prevent records from deletion. To make sure any deleted items are visible, select Settings then press Company Preferences and Parameters. Clear the Exclude deleted transactions checkbox.
Associated with a project - Customer records only
In Customers, open the required record and press Projects.
Edit the project record and change the associated customer or, if completed and appropriate, delete the project.
Hide records that you can't delete
If you can't delete your records, or want to keep them for reference, you can hide records instead by flagging them as inactive.