How to control where a category appears in Sage Accounting Start, or hide it when you no longer need it.
When you create a transaction, you only see the relevant categories, for example, sales categories only link to sales transactions.
To use a category somewhere else, change its visibility. When you stop using an account, hide it. You can delete it if you haven't used it in any transactions. For details, see Delete a category.
NOTE:
You can't hide control accounts. Sage Accounting uses these categories when you create transactions. Categories with balances still appear on your reports, even when you hide them.
Show or hide a category
- Go to Settings, then Business settings, select Chart of accounts.
- Select the category you want to change.
- Do one of the following:
- To change where the category appears, select the relevant areas in the Visibility section
- To hide the category, clear the Included in Chart checkbox
- Select Save.
After you hide a category, you can't select it when you enter transactions.
- Solution ID
- 222001000100127
- Last Modified Date
- Fri Oct 16 15:53:18 UTC 2026
- Views
- 0