Google Drive integration within Sage Accounting.
Resolution
Google Drive is a service provided by Google that lets you store your files online. If you’ve got a Google account, you can integrate this with Accounting. Once integrated when you create sales documents, it saves a copy in Google Drive. This includes sales invoices, credit notes and quotes.
NOTE: To integrate with Google Drive you must have a Google account. If you haven't, you need to create one.
After enabling, when you create a sales document a folder appears in Google Drive called Sage Invoices. This is where you can store copies of your invoices, credit notes and quotes. It also includes draft copies.
TIP: The copy created in Google Drive, uses the invoice or credit number from Sage, for example, SI-2 or SCN-3.
If you amend an existing invoice or credit note, we create a new copy in the Sage Invoices folder in Google Drive. The old one goes into the Bin folder. If you move the invoice or credit note to a different folder, a new copy appears in the Sage Invoices folder. This won't affect where you moved the original copy.
Changes include:
- Amending any details on an existing sales invoice or credit note
- Crediting a sales credit note. This creates both a copy of the credit note and a new copy of the invoice
- Recording a payment against the sales invoice. When the outstanding amount updates in Sage, a new invoice appears in Google Drive
- If you void an invoice or credit note in Sage, the corresponding copy in Google Drive goes into the Bin folder
TIP: If you convert a quote to an invoice, the original quote stays in the Sage Invoices folder. We also create a copy of the invoice.
You can access Google Drive in one of the following ways:
For more information about Google Drive, please visit www.google.com/drive
- Go to the Settings then Apps and connections.
- Select Google Drive then choose Enable.
- If you’re already logged into your Google account select Accept.
If you’re not already logged in, enter your email address and password. Select Sign In then Accept.
You’ve successfully enabled integration with Google Drive.
- Go to Settings, then Apps and connections.
- Select Google Drive then Disable.
You’ve successfully disabled the integration.
Future sales invoices, credit notes and quotes are no longer copied to Google Drive. If necessary you can enable integration again at any time by simply selecting Enable.
- If you’re still logged in to the same Google account you originally used when you first set up the integration, you don’t need to do anything else
- If you’re signed out of Google, sign in and accept access
- If you’re currently signed into a different Google account, you’re prompted to accept access. If you don’t want to use this account, sign out and then sign in with the account details you want to use
NOTE: You can only integrate one Sage company with your Google Drive account at any time. If you want to change which Sage company integrates with Google Drive, you must first revoke the original company’s access to Google Drive.
- Visit https://accounts.google.com
- If you’re not already signed in, enter your email address and password then Sign in.
- Go to Security then select Account permissions. Select Apps and websites, then View all.
- Select Sage then select Revoke Access. Now select OK.
You’ve successfully removed Sage access to Google Drive. If required, you can now enable access for a different company. To do this, please see Enable Google Drive Integration.