Skip to content
logo Knowledgebase

Delete a customer receipt

Created on  | Last modified on 

Summary

How to delete customer receipts in Sage Accounting.

Description

How this works

Once deleted

  • The deleted transaction shows in the audit trail with a line through
  • Any invoices the receipt was allocated to, now show as unpaid
  • The balance on the customer account updates
  • The bank account balance updates

Resolution

Reconciled receipts

These are payment receipts transactions included on a bank reconciliation. On your bank activity, they have a tick in the reconciled column. When you delete a reconciled receipt

The receipt shows on your bank reconciliation with a Removed from reconciliation label in the Corrected Transaction column
Image

  • The Starting Balance of your next bank reconciliation updates
  • The Starting Balance is always the total value of all reconciled transactions, up to the statement date. Deleted transactions are not included in this balance

Delete the receipt

  1. From Banking, select the relevant bank account.
  2. From the Activity tab, select the tick box to the left of the transactions you want to delete. 

    A toolbar now appears above the list.


    Image
  3. From the toolbar, select the Delete icon.

Reverse a receipt

Do this when you use the Cash Basis VAT scheme, and the receipt is included on a submitted VAT Return.

This clears the value from your account, and bank account and updates the VAT Return. Enter a new one with the correct details.

If you have not yet submitted the VAT Return within Sage Accounting, just delete the draft VAT Return. Then you can edit the receipt as normal.

Unallocate the receipt

Before you reverse the receipt, make sure you remove the link to any invoices it is paying.

  1. Open the customer receipt you need to reverse.
  2. Untick the boxes next to everything the receipt is linked to.
  3. Click Save. 
  4. Click Yes to save the receipt as a payment on account. 

Next, you need to create a refund to reverse the receipt.

Create a refund with the same details as the receipt

The refund is the opposite transaction to a receipt, so the two transactions cancel each other out. Allocate them to each other so you know you used the refund to reverse it.

  1. Go to Banking.
  2. Select New, then Purchase/Payment.
  3. Select Customer Refund.
  4. Enter the Customer, Bank Account, Method, Date and Amount. This must be the same details as the original payment.
  5. As the original receipt is now outstanding, you can allocate it to the refund.
  6. Select the check box next to the original receipt. This makes sure you can track when you have made corrections.
  7. Click Save.

The refund updates your bank balance, cancelling out the receipt. The refund reports on the next VAT Return, cancelling out the value of the receipt.

Next, create a new customer receipt with the correct details.

Enter a new payment with the correct details

If required, create a new receipt with the correct details needed.

  1. From Banking.
  2. Select New, then Sale/Receipt.
  3. Enter the details of the new receipt.
  4. Select the check box next to the invoice the new receipt is paying if required.
  5. Click Save.

The new receipt will show on your next VAT Return.

The refund and new receipt will show on the next bank reconciliation. We recommend that you reconcile these straight away. This makes sure the starting balance is correct on the next bank reconciliation.




View More...