Skip to content
logo Knowledgebase

Cleared bank transactions

Created on  | Last modified on 

Summary

How to edit or delete cleared transactions in Sage Accounting.

Resolution

These are bank transactions you have imported from a bank feed or bank statement. When you check the bank activity, there is a tick in the Cleared column.

This explains:

  • When we use the cleared status
  • The impact of editing or deleting cleared transactions

When we use the 'cleared' status

We add a cleared check to show when a bank transaction has come directly from your bank. This could be via a bank feed or from importing a bank statement.

This tells you when a bank transaction in Sage Accounting is also on your bank statement and reflected in your bank balance.

When you import transactions from a bank feed or bank statement, we automatically mark them as both cleared and ready to reconcile. So when you next reconcile, these transactions are already selected, speeding up the bank reconciliation process.

You cannot add the cleared status to a transaction.

cleared1

Find 'cleared' transactions

  1. From Banking, open the relevant bank account.
  2. Make sure you are viewing the Activity tab.
  3. Sort the Cleared column to find your cleared transactions.

Edit or delete cleared transactions

When you edit or delete a cleared transaction, remember that it may no longer match your real bank account.

Edit a cleared transaction

When you edit a cleared transaction, we remove the Cleared and the Reconciled checks. This is to remind you to check the edited transaction against your bank statement. When you next reconcile, you'll also have to select the reconcile box.

Remember, you cannot edit a transaction included on a VAT return.

  1. From Banking, open the relevant bank account.
  2. From the Activity tab, select the transaction you want to edit.
  3. Make the required changes and Save.

cleared2

Delete a cleared transaction

You cannot delete a transaction included on a VAT return.

  1. From Banking, open the relevant bank account.
  2. From the Activity tab, select the check box to the left of the transaction you want to delete.
  3. On the toolbar, select the Delete icon and confirm.

Difference between cleared and reconciled

Cleared transactions have been created from a bank feed or imported from a statement. This tells you that the transaction is on your bank statement, reflected in your bank balance, and ready to reconcile.

When you enter a bank transaction using the Receipt or Payment options, we don't mark the transaction as cleared. This tells you that you need to check that the transaction matches your bank statement.

Reconciled transactions are those included in a bank reconciliation. When you reconcile, you are confirming that the transaction matches your bank account. Once you reconcile transactions, you have limited options when editing and deleting them.




Related Solutions

´╗┐Delete bank transactions

Correct transactions included on a VAT return