Skip to content
logo Knowledgebase

How to restore a backup

Created on  | Last modified on 

Summary

This guide explains how to restore a backup in Sage Payroll.

Description

Restoring a backup is a complete restoration of the payroll to the way it was, at the time the backup was taken. This means that any changes you've made since the backup was taken are undone.

Resolution

Restore data for a single payroll

  1. Open Sage Payroll and log in to the payroll you want to restore data for.
  2. On the menu bar, click Miscellaneous then click Restore.
  3. Click browse , browse to where your backup is stored, then click OK.
  4. Click Show details.
    Before you proceed any further, check the details of the restorable data and ensure they are correct. If not, repeat steps 3 and 4 again.
  5. To include Direct Payroll Reporting registration details and the Retrieve RPN & Payroll Submission logs, select the Restore Direct Reporting Data check box.
    Use this check-box with caution as it overwrites the existing Retrieve RPN and Payroll Submission to ROS log files.
  6. Click Restore.
  7. To continue, click Yes to the Restore Direct Payroll Reporting Data overwrite warning.
  8. Click OK then, to close the Restore screen, click Cancel.

Restore data for all payrolls in your software

  1. Open Sage Payroll and log in as the system administrator.
  2. The user name is admin. The default password is pass, unless you've changed it.
  3. On the menu bar, click Miscellaneous then click Restore.
  4. Click browse , browse to where your backup is stored, then click OK.
  5. Click Show details.
    Before you proceed any further, check the details of the restorable data and ensure they are correct. If not, repeat steps 3 and 4 again.
  6. For each payroll you want to restore data for, select the Restore check box.
  7. To include the Direct Payroll Reporting Data (Direct Payroll Reporting registration details and the Retrieve RPN & Payroll Submission to ROS logs), select the Direct Pay. Rpting Data check box for each payroll that you want to complete this action for.
    Use this check box with caution as it overwrites the existing Retrieve RPN and Payroll Submission to ROS log files.
  8. Click Restore then, to continue, click Yes to the Restore Direct Payroll Reporting Data overwrite warning.
  9. Click OK then, to close the Restore window, click Cancel.